Vote for Children’s Choice Book Awards


The Children’s Book Council has announced the finalists for the Children’s Choice Book Awards and if you’re under the age of 18 or are a teacher, bookseller or librarian, you can vote!

There are 30 finalists in six categories, including Author and Illustrator of the Year. Voting is open through April 29, 2011, and winners will be announced May 2 as part of Children’s Book Week (May 2-8).

Here are the categories and finalists:

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year:
“Even Monsters Need Haircuts” by Matthew McElligott (Walker)
“Hot Rod Hamster” by Cynthia Lord, illustrated by Derek Anderson (Scholastic Press)
“How Rocket Learned to Read” by Tad Hills (Schwartz & Wade/ Random House)
“Little Pink Pup” by Johanna Kerby (Putnam/Penguin)
“Shark vs. Train” by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld (Little, Brown)


Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year:

“Babymouse # 12: Burns Rubber” by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (Random House)
“Bad Kitty vs. Uncle Murray: The Uproar at the Front Door” by Nick Bruel (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
“Encyclopedia Mythologica: Gods & Heroes” by Matthew Reinhart and Robert Sabuda (Candlewick)
“Finally” by Wendy Mass (Scholastic Press)
“Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf/Random House)


Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year:

“Big Nate: In a Class by Himself” by Lincoln Peirce (HarperCollins)
“It’s a Book” by Lane Smith (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
“The Red Pyramid” (The Kane ChroncilesChronicles, Book 1) by Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion)
“Smile” by Raina Telgemeier (Graphix/Scholastic)
“Zebrafish” by Peter H. Reynolds and FableVision (Atheneum/Simon & Schuster)


Teen Choice Book of the Year:

“Burned” (House of Night, Book 7) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast (St. Martin’s Griffin/Macmillan)
“Fang” (A Maximum Ride Novel) by James Patterson (Little, Brown)
“Mockingjay” (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic Press)
“Spirit Bound” (Vampire Academy, Book 5) by Richelle Mead (Razorbill/Penguin)
“Will Grayson, Will Grayson” by John Green and David Levithan (Dutton/Penguin)


Author of the Year:

Cassandra Clare for “Clockwork Angel” (The Infernal Devices, Book 1) (McElderry/Simon & Schuster)
Suzanne Collins for “Mockingjay” (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) (Scholastic Press)
Jeff Kinney for “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth” (Amulet/Abrams)
Stephenie Meyer for “The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner” (Megan Tingley/Little, Brown)
Rick Riordan for “The Lost Hero” (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) (Disney-Hyperion)


Illustrator of the Year:

Robin Preiss Glasser for “Fancy Nancy and the Fabulous Fashion Boutique “(HarperCollins)
Loren Long for “Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters” (Knopf/Random House)
Nancy Tillman for “Wherever You Are: My Love Will Find You” (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan)
David Wiesner for ‘Art & Max” (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Mo Willems for “Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion” (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins)

*cover images in no way indicate this blogger’s favorite books/authors

© 2011 – 2017, Cracking the Cover. All rights reserved.


About Author

Jessica Harrison is the main reviewer behind Cracking the Cover. Prior to creating Cracking the Cover, Jessica worked as the in-house book critic for the Deseret News, a daily newspaper in Salt Lake City. Jessica also worked as a copy editor and general features writer for the paper. Following that, Jessica spent two years with an international company as a social media specialist. She is currently a freelance writer/editor. She is passionate about reading and giving people the tools to make informed decisions in their own book choices.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.